Greenhorn needs some pointers

NV native

Oct 5, 2012
I am new to prospecting but I'm in prime gold country on private property with an ancient creek bed and I need to get serious! My gear includes a dry washer I bought used and a new husky 2 stroke blower. I'm a hot mess though because the first time I ran it I blew just about everything out! Is idle the preferred speed? Also, this creek bed has about 6-10" of sand that's drifted in, should I just move that all aside and get to the dry clay and down to bedrock? Any advice is appreciated, thank you!

Goodyguy

Gold Member
Mar 10, 2007
Arizona
Detector(s) used
Whites TM 808, Whites GMT, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Suction Dredges, Trommels, Gold Vacs, High Bankers, Fluid bed Gold Traps, Rock Crushers, Sluices, Dry Washers, Miller Tables, Rp4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First, test out your dry washer by dropping some tiny pieces of lead shavings into the hopper along with the material that your running and see if your sluice is catching them or blowing them out.

If you have been running sand, only the fine dust should blow out and the sand should make it's way down the sluice looking like dirty water.
Personally I would get past the blown in sand overburden and run the material close and down to bedrock.

I recommend joining a local prospecting club. Usually members will be happy to help you get started on the right track and give advice on how to properly set up and operate your equipment.

I'm sure there will be some dry wash experts on here to give you more details I have limited experience drywashing.

GG~

Attachments

• dw1.jpg
    dw1.jpg
    19.1 KB · Views: 485
Last edited:

Fullpan

Bronze Member
May 6, 2012
nevada
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey and welcome NV! Love your avatar - my old GMC has about a hundred thousand miles of those dirt roads on its odometer. I'm sure others will jump
in on your drywashing questions. Again, welcome to TN!

OP
OP
NV native

NV native