DRYWASHING PROJECT

G

ghostminer

I have a pending drywashing project for summer 2018 in northern Sierra Nevada Mts in California. I have NO experience with drywashers but feel this may be a viable option. The past summers have been extremely dry at our location. We have good gold on a faultline that appears to be ancient river deposits. This area has a past production history from the hydraulic period in the 1800's & I have all historical records. It appears to me this area of a major faultline was partially exposed but never finished as the deposits are at the surface. Hand dug bucket samples taken across a 75 yard area below the crest of the fault consistently assay $35 - $45 per yard of fine gold. We have a flooded mine shaft that could be used for a water source but would require laying pipe some 2000 ft. My thoughts are to further test or run material first using either several Thompson puffers or a Keene 191 as it is dustless (or almost dustless). The ground is fairly easy shoveling with mix of sand, gravel, quartz. I think 2 people could possibly run 1 to 2 yards per hour through a drywasher. My plan is to take material by shallow trenching by hand across the area to make sure we always have dry gravels & come back around to deeper digging as the exposed layers dry completely over several days. Several of these trenches could be started to ensure dry material is always available. I would like to hear from you experienced people as to the viability of this project. Also, do you have any advice as to set up, best drywasher for fine gold recovery, etc. Is it good to pre-classify or j DSC00247.jpg ust shovel direct to grizzly for speed? My feeling is more yards run would make up for any small % gold lost. Let me know what you think. Here is a picture of a test hole on the faultline. You may also PM me if you have an interest in this project.

Last edited:

arizau

Bronze Member
May 2, 2014
AZ
Detector(s) used