Equinox 800...anyone getting better depth and target ids on 5 MHz vs Multi?

hageneyr

Aug 25, 2017
Downingtown, PA
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all,

Have about 100 hours on my 800...continue to do real well with it on my hammered old parks in the Philly suburbs. 25 + silvers and 100+ wheaties so far. Coming off an AT Pro which i loved and mastered. Im still learning the 800 and spend a lot of time on T.net and utube learning tips/tricks. I also had the operators manual printed and bound.

I have found recently that i get good quality signals when running in 5 MHz in Park 1 or 2 mode. Signals that i dont get when running in multi. Ive recently took to running in multi and when getting an “iffy” signal ill switch to 5 Mhz and confirm it.

More recently ive been avoiding multi and just running at 5 mhz and digging a ton of deep coins. Though i dont think 5 Mhz hits nickels very well.

A question...if ur running at 5 MHz with all gb, recovery speed, sense and iron all the same...do different modes even make a difference?

I still need to learn best customized coin program where i can set tones and breaks and tone volumes. I just havent made the time to do that yet.

One other comment about my first 100 hours....the 800 has really caused me some elbow pain. To the point i have to take a week off. I dont know if its a balance or design thing but my inner elbow is really beat up. Has anyone made any adjustment to the 800 that has made it more ergonomic in this regard? Its a bummer im in so much pain swinging this thing..and i aint that old (50).

Take care all!

Vhoov

May 9, 2016
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800, AT Pro, Pro pointer AT,
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been bouncing around to confirm iffy signals as Well! I had to lower the arm cuff some (when I discovered I couldn't bring the grip back) it's weird having the shaft stick out of the back end but feels better.

I'm also coming off an ATPro.