Greenie
Mar 7, 2018
San Dimas, California
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Everyone:

I am fairly new to metal detecting. My Equinox 800 is my first detector. I have had it out 3 times so far with good results so I am very excited about it but I have run into a bit of a problem. My first time out I detected a playground at the RV Park I live at for about an hour with good results. On Saturday (second time out) I was detecting a tent camping area in the RV Park that I live at. All was well for the first hour and half then all of sudden my Equinox started to chatter and jump all over the place. I tried noise canceling and ground balance but nothing helped. I turned the sensitivity down from 22 to 14 to eliminate the chatter but I am concerned turning it down that much will affect my ability to find targets. It got so bad that I just called it a day. On Sunday (third time out) I was detecting a park not far from where I live. Again at first everything was fine for the first hour and then all of sudden excessive chatter. Again I tried noise cancel and ground balance with no success. At the camping area there was no one around except a few kids. At the park there were lots of people fishing and picnicking. Both times this happened I was in Park 1 with sensitivity at 22. Also my phone was off and my pin pointer was off. I know that both of these can cause chatter. Anyone else run into this problem? If so how do you correct it? Could I have somehow pushed something to cause this? I am beginning to wonder if there is something wrong with my detector. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve

Tommybuckets

Bronze Member
Mar 2, 2015
Bodymore, Metalland
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal, Safari, Garrett infinium, Whites prizm 4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting