General Question Use on Equinox 800 - Coil Connection

saanich2018

Apr 25, 2018
Atlanta, GA
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to this, so please forgive for all my questions.

I have a new Equinox 800. I have only used it twice for a total of about an hour - but I have already found $1.25 in change.

Anyway, my question today concerns the coil and the attachment on the shaft. How tight should it be?

It seems every time I stop to dig on a signal, when I lay the 800 down on the ground, the coil will change positions and lay flat, then I have to push it back into the position I need for swinging it.

I did not want to over tighten the coil connection, but should it be able to flex and move some?

If I hold the 800 in my left hand and hold the coil with my right hand, I can shift the coil in the pivot direction back and forth with minimum effort. It is not loose but it is not overly tight.

Is this correct? I was figuring it should not be to tight, so if it struck the ground or an object it would have some play in it.

Again, this may be a stupid question and obvious to most of you, but I do not want to damage this unit and I want to learn to do it correctly.

Last edited:

wallrat_1975

Jul 19, 2018
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 1000 (800 + Steve's Carbon Goodies!),
Teknetics T2 SE LTD,
Teknetics Omega 8000,
Garret Carrot,
Tek-Point, 2 x Teknetics TLD
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
This is correct. I keep mine just loose enough that when laying it down the coil flattens, then when I pick it up to hunt again, I just hold it at hunting length and push the coil on the ground to get it parallel to the ground again.

HH!

-Bill

eman1000

Feb 24, 2016
Elizabethtown, IN
Detector(s) used
XP Deus ORX, Etrac, F75, Simplex, MX5, V3i, Equinox, Tesoro Vaq, F22
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting