First day finds with the Equinox 800

Shooting Star

Mar 3, 2019
Southern California
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My Equinox 800 arrived yesterday, and I charged it up and assembled it. I had already read the user's manual cover to cover after downloading the PDF. I ventured out into the backyard for the first use, and here's what I found. All trash I know, but this is my first time using a metal detector ever, so was very glad to find anything at all to dig up. I used the default settings and Park 1 mode 1.

Attachments

• finds_190316a.jpg
    finds_190316a.jpg
    348.8 KB · Views: 167

ripvanb

May 7, 2017
Connecticut
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800 & Tesoro Compadre 8"
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good luck with the 800! I also got one this week.

70ss454

Greenie
Feb 23, 2019
Vernon, Texas
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I tried the three tone setting that is pinned at the top of the forum today. I am getting really good at finding trash for sure. The 800 works great, I just need to get the coil over some good targets.

vferrari

Silver Member
Jul 19, 2015
Near Ground Zero for Insanity
Detector(s) used
XP Deus with HF/x35 Coils and Mi6 Pinpointer/ML Equinox 600/800/ML Tarsacci MDT 8000 GPX 4800/Garrett ATX/Fisher F75 DST/Tek G2+/Delta/Whites MXT/Nokta Simplex/Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Keep at it folks, ask away if you've got questions as you climb the learning curve. Best thing you can do is get out there, swing, dig everything regardless of ID and learn what the machine is telling you. HH

HIGHSTRUNG

Bronze Member
Feb 6, 2019
Camden SC
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS 9" HF Coil, Garret Pro-Pointer, MI-6 pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting