Garrett AT Pro
Minelab Excalibur 1000 with SEF 10x12 coil
3 Minelab Excalibur II 10 inch
Deus II
EQuinox 900
Manticore
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Hi folks , I am still a newb with this machine but enjoying getting to "know" it , I see a few area of improvement and that being the shaft. what are your thoughts and why?

Thanks in advance

Take a look at Steve’s equinox counter balanced carbon fiber shaft with the counter weight. I have it and love it.

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XP Deus I & II
Xterra Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
I second that suggestion. Steve’s Rods are excellent. I have the counter balanced one with the adjustable weight on the back.

HighVDI

Silver Member
Feb 16, 2017
Pa
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Another vote for Steve's setup. Heres a video of what they look like. Colors available too.

sandmartin

Feb 20, 2015
Scarborough, England
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 900.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I would definitely recommend a carbon shaft with counter balance. I made my own, very easy to make and has made a huge difference. Before I found the Nox nose heavy but now it is very well balanced and feels much lighter.

Donut

Jan 25, 2010
Coloma, Michigan
Detector(s) used
Xterra 70 6" 7.5khz concentric 9" 7.5Khz concentric, 5x10 18.75Khz DD, 10.5 18.75Khz DD.
I’m also a fan of Steve’s a carbon shaft. The video showed unscrewing the end cap Bud didn’t show the bags of shot that goes inside it and when adding the shot you can control the amount of weight to match your coil and also the length of the rod. When I’m on the beach I extend mine and have about a seven foot level swing and using the counter balance it balances it out because of the longer length.
But it counterbalances so good you don’t want to use the counter balance when in the water because you will have trouble keeping the coil down with the waves and yes the counter balance helps that much.