Equinox 800 versus Property Stake?

DavidDigs4Free

May 20, 2020
Nebraska
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800, Nokta/Makro Anfibio Multi
Primary Interest:
Other
Yesterday while I was hunting a Private Yard two guys stopped in a Pick Up Truck and ask if I hired out. I was like what, hired out for what? They said they were with a home construction company working just down the street and the saw me metal detecting and wondered if I could locate a property line stake for them. I've never done this before and have zero context as to what I was looking for but I agreed to try. They told me I was looking for a steel stake just under the sod along the curb in a general area about 10 ft. long. I put my Equinox 800 in Park 1 mode and All Metal. I had no idea how the end of a steel stake would come in, what target ID numbers it would register. I looked along the length of curb they were interested in and was not able to locate the steel stake. It is possible the stake was not there and had been removed, but like I said I have no real context to what I was looking for. For me it was a challenge and I wanted to help these men if I could.

Does anyone have any information or actual knowledge of what the end of a steel property stake target ID's as? Or what to look for or how to adjust the Equinox to best find the end of a steel stake.

I may have to confirm what a property stake is made of and what dimensions they are and make a test in my yard by pounding one in the ground and scanning it.

Thanks in advance for your time and consideration. And good Hunting!

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting