Amish craftsmanship my butt!!!

flip flop

Mar 3, 2010
East of West OhiO
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Can't take any more.....
I'm a general contractor and just lost a rather large job (100k plus) to the Amish. The Amish bid was just about 6 1/2 % less than mine...hummm. Small guys like me are required to pay 7 % tax on all material purchased, the Amish do not.
I have four full-time guys and struggle to keep them busy enough to keep their families feed. I could lie and file for "religious tax exemption", but couldn't live with myself by not doing the "right thing".
How can the Amish use our road system, snarl traffic, and allow their horses to crap all over the place and not pay taxes?????

Thanks for allowing me to vent.
Flip Flop

WindHarvester

Bronze Member
Jan 21, 2007
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Tracker 2 - My eyes
Sorry to hear that you lost the bid. Although I get along with the Amish fine and we have a lot of them here in Southeast Ohio that I often buy produce from, it does get pretty irritating when you know they pay no or nearly none into the tax system.

Whats this about "religious tax exemption"? Do tell how it's done. :wink: ;D

Frankn

Gold Member
Mar 21, 2010
Maryland
Detector(s) used
XLT , surfmaster PI , HAYS 2Box , VIBRA-TECTOR
Get a retail sales tax license. This exempts you from the sales tax on your material. You only have to pay tax on the income. Frank

Michigan Badger

Gold Member
Oct 12, 2005
Northern, Michigan
Detector(s) used
willow stick
Primary Interest:
Other
This doesn't really apply to your post rant but after reading all posts it suddenly occurred to me that I can't recall a time when an Amish person was in trouble with the law around here (and we have lots of those people not far from us).

There's a large Indian reservation in northern Michigan and I know their Tribal Police keep busy.