Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Member
Discoveries
 
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Charter Member
    us
    Nov 2007
    Port Huron, Mi.
    Freedom Ace Coin Commander and Ace 250
    3,007
    16 times

    Does Anyone Know Anything About This?

    Greetings, Everyone, We just got back from a 2 week camping trip up North. Had a great time. The
    weather was awful hot but we had a good shady spot with trees all around our camper, shading it
    all the time, which was really great. LOL. I used the detector a few times but all I got was a few
    clad and nothing of any value.

    Now for my question! Out of a ton of emails that piled up while we were gone is one that I am
    wondering about. If it is on the level, sounds like a great idea. It is from a group that says it is
    a 'Professional Metal Detecting Recovery Service Directory!' My name was recommended to them
    by a member of their website. I won't mention his full name here in case he doesn't want it known,
    but his initials are D. M. I was wondering if he might be a member here and got my name and
    address here.

    The email says the primary purpose of their website is to provide a world wide directory of metal
    detectorists for the general public to have a quick and easy way to find a metal detectorist near
    their location who are willing to offer their assistance in finding a lost metal object.

    They are called, 'RecoverMyTreasures.com.' Does anyone know anything about them? Or are
    a member? I would like to sign up in this, but, am wondering if it might be a scam to get
    into our computer if I go on their site?

    I would appreciate some responses to see what you have to say about it.

    I am aware that some are registered with the local police departments to make themself available
    if their services with their detector is needed to help them locate something.

    Thank you for reading this. Wishing you all a great day.

    Ray

    Aspire to inspire before you expire

  2. #2
    us
    Jan 2008
    78729
    dfx
    1,164

    Re: Does Anyone Know Anything About This?

    I did a little research and the domain was created on march of this year. This person, in my opinion, is on the level.

    I actually wrote about 4 paragraphs below this, but I deleted it because I didn't want to offend anyone. But, DM, if your listening, You have the right idea in mind, but don't ever hire that guy again to create your webpage. He has talent, but he doesn't' have 'finesse'. Sudulty is worth a ton more than anything else in this day and age.

    But, in all, he's on the level. In my opinion of course. He loves the sport, and wants to create a website that caters to his passion. In my opinion, he's on the level.

    Of course, if you PM me, I can give you my 'insight', but I think he's on the level.

  3. #3
    gb
    Aug 2009
    SWEDEN
    (on the dry)Minelab ETRAC, backup x-terra 305.(in the wet ) Minelab Excalibur II
    2,029
    3 times

    Re: Does Anyone Know Anything About This?

    If it's a Canadian based company? then there was a thread on here last year where the owner/founder explained his side...while everyone else gave him crap!

    I think it's a legit company, if it is that one...though the practicalities of being a member in terms of jobs acquired...is dubious.
           

  4. #4
    Charter Member
    us
    Nov 2007
    Port Huron, Mi.
    Freedom Ace Coin Commander and Ace 250
    3,007
    16 times

    Re: Does Anyone Know Anything About This?

    mikeofaustin, Thank you for the information and your opinion about it. I will PM you to see
    what else you have to say about it.

    Dano. It made no reference to being Canadian or where it is from. Just that it would be world-wide.
    Perhaps I used the wrong term, 'scam'. What I was thinking was if you're registered on such a large
    scale, maybe some of those 'hackers' might be able to enter your computer and steal your identity.
    That seems to be happening alot lately. I am having second thoughts about signing up on it, mainly
    for that reason. Thank you very much for you input.

    Ray
    Aspire to inspire before you expire

  5. #5
    us
    Jan 2008
    78729
    dfx
    1,164

    Re: Does Anyone Know Anything About This?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray S S
    mikeofaustin, Thank you for the information and your opinion about it. I will PM you to see
    what else you have to say about it.

    Dano. It made no reference to being Canadian or where it is from. Just that it would be world-wide.
    Perhaps I used the wrong term, 'scam'. What I was thinking was if you're registered on such a large
    scale, maybe some of those 'hackers' might be able to enter your computer and steal your identity.
    That seems to be happening alot lately. I am having second thoughts about signing up on it, mainly
    for that reason. Thank you very much for you input.

    Ray
    Yep, as far as 'registering', I wouldn't give any information at all, other than use the abilility of that web site to send you private emails to your regular email address. Kind of like PM's here. I'll respond to your PM.

 

 

Home | Forum | Active Topics | What's New

Sponsors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.3