|
-
Nov 16, 2011, 10:52 PM
#1
Scam or not
I have a friend who's girl friend posts comic skits on a web site called funny money, any way he asks me to vote for her, which I did, next thing I know is that I get a letter from them telling me I won $500 for voting for the winning punch line. How would you go about checking on these guys to find out if they really legit. Here's a copy of the letter I received.
Congratulations! You won the Funny For Money $500 Grand Prize for Voting for the Punchline of the Week!
Here is what you need to send us to get your $500 prize:
Ø Your phone number.
Ø Your email address that is linked to your PayPal account. No PayPal account? It's free to set up and only takes a few minutes at https://www.paypal.com/.
Ø You are now going to be included in our Past Winners page- we’ll need a picture of yourself, and your Facebook and Twitter handles.
Ø Since you have won $500, for tax purposes, I will need you to fill out the attached W9 form. You can either scan the filled out form and email it back, or fax it to 630-839-2330. I also need a copy of your Social Security card (for verification purposes only). We will have your $500 in your PayPal account within one week after receiving the above copies.
Thanks for playing, and remember to tell all your friends about our site with your personal sponsor link so you can have more chances to win the grand prizes on Funny For Money! Also be sure to show all your friends your inclusion in this week’s “ Funny For Money News “.
Now go enjoy laughing your way to the bank!
Best,
Missy Voigtsberger
Prize Coordinator
Funny for Money Enterprises, LLC
Twitter: @funny_for_money
www.funnyformoney.com
winner@funnyformoney.com
FAX 1.630.839.2330
I've won $$ before on internet gambling sites and I have never been ask for a SS number,I have had to send in a copy of my driver licness, and a copy of a utility bill for ID purposes but never a SSo I'm wondering how do check up on these kind of things,I've written them back asking for a phone number and an address
Thanks for whatever light we can shed on these guys
Heres the reply
I do understand your hesitation. Here is a link to our terms and conditions on the site that has our home office address at the bottom under ‘contact us’.
http://funnyformoney.com/Home/TermsAndConditions
Funny For Money has to abide by the IRS rules that state we must report to them any prize winnings over $600 that we pay out. http://www.irs.gov/businesses/articl...243429,00.html
We do this by having you fill out their form W9 and verifying that your SS number is accurate for tax purposes. If we could meet with you face to face, we would only need to see your SS card to verify the number. Since that is not possible, we have provided you with a secure fax line to send us a copy of it along with your W9. If you would prefer to mail your information to our Home Office address, you may certainly choose that as an option also. We ask for the W9 form at the $500 prize mark to ensure that we have your information on file for the IRS if you win again in any of the three categories.
If you would like to speak with me by phone, you can reach me at 630-629-1940. I’ll be available today until 7pm Eastern time or tomorrow after 9am Eastern time.
Best regards,
Missy Voigtsberger
Prize Coordinator
Funny for Money Enterprises, LLC
Twitter: @funny_for_money
www.funnyformoney.com
winner@funnyformoney.com
FAX 1.630.839.2330
Any Ideas on how to go about checking this out with 500 bucks I could prolly pick up a pretty nice detector, but would hate to have to deal with ID theft
Thanks in advance
Marty
I took the road less traveled------------------- and now I'm lost 
The secret to a long life ....................... make sure the sailor at the helm can't swim
-
Nov 16, 2011, 11:08 PM
#2
Re: Scam or not
Sounds like a scam to me, and I've run millions of them on people 
They don't have to report spending under $600, but they could just send you a 1099 and you file it.
Please note, the author is not responsible for any ideas, facts, etc stated in his comments and does not constitute any liability for his dribble.
-
Nov 17, 2011, 12:42 AM
#3
This world is not my home.
-
Nov 17, 2011, 12:59 AM
#4
Re: Scam or not
 Originally Posted by RGINN
Stay away from that.
I wouldn't go that far RGINN, it may be my cousin running that and we can use the money
Please note, the author is not responsible for any ideas, facts, etc stated in his comments and does not constitute any liability for his dribble.
-
Nov 17, 2011, 03:15 AM
#5
 MINELAB XS-2 Pro ....... XTERRA 305 ....... EXPLORER SE PRO
Re: Scam or not
SCAM
Give them your P.O. box# & say send the check.
You'll take care of the reporting Yourself
discriminate out Spike TV and American Diggers !
-
Nov 17, 2011, 06:08 AM
#6
-
Nov 17, 2011, 06:11 AM
#7
Re: Scam or not
run for the hills!
or
or have your friend submit with his info. split money. You would be $250 richer if real, and if it goes bust and they hijack the identity and go insane with private info and put the person in the hole with credit messed up etc. --it won't be you! 
-
Nov 17, 2011, 07:29 AM
#8
 Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Re: Scam or not
Looked it up, it's a legit site, new to the scene since june 2011.
Now complaints registered yet.
Use the official online website to shoot them an email to verify as a safety concern.
It's a Illinois company and thats were the phone and fax numbers go.
When you voted you registered on the site so maybe you read the TOS ?
Good luck
If you find me upside down, Roll me over.
"I dream of a world where chickens can cross roads
without having their motives questioned..."
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|