Teacher strike Chi. town

Chisos

Aug 29, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am a retired teacher and all I can say is that teachers everywhere seem to have lost sight of the fact that students come first. We didn't take the job to get rich, in fact, I always felt we were paid great. I had every weekend, every holiday and 2 1/2 to 3 months off every summer. I ended up doing a couple of part-time jobs(college, Pearson education) mainly because I fell into them. We worked 8-4 M-F and yes, I worked at home grading papers and doing lesson plans, but not all the time. I loved my job(s) and still am supposed to work for Pearson. So I find it hard to sympathize with the strikers. Maybe they feel that more benefits and better pay will make the difference, but more dedication might work too. Maybe I was just spoiled. Once again, teachers are losing sight of the fact that they are there for the students. (Just my opinion)

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Please keep the politics out of the forum as per TreasureNet rules...

Chisos

Aug 29, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
OK, thanks. I kind of thought that too, but figured I better ask.

packerbacker

Gold Member
May 11, 2005
Northern California
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Actually it's quite difficult to talk about unions and strikes and not being able to mention what causes them. It's like discussing what causes daylight and not being able to mention the sun; you just end up with a whitewashed thread. I guess it's a good rule as there are many out there with iron-trap minds that get all upset about religion and politics. Funny though, we can still discuss dowsing, ghosts, the paranormal, and the supernatural. :)

Last edited:

spartacus53

Banned
Jul 5, 2009