metal nugget

mclean

Jul 21, 2013
Scotland
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
metal nugget 001.jpg metal nugget 002.jpg metal nugget 003.jpg

Hi there, this is a metal nugget I found at loch awe in scotland, doe's anyone know what type of metal it is? it weighs about 3 ounce.

Last edited:

Frankn

Gold Member
Mar 21, 2010
Maryland
Detector(s) used
XLT , surfmaster PI , HAYS 2Box , VIBRA-TECTOR
It's hard to tell by looking at a picture, but I would guess it has received a lot of wear from erosion or fire. The interesting thing is if you blow up the center picture there almost appears to be a map or at least some symbols on it. Frank...

111-1 profile.jpg

OP
OP
mclean

mclean

Jul 21, 2013
Scotland
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
hello frank, thanks for your reply, I'm new to this game but I am saving up for a metal detector as we speak, I do alot of walking and fishing and like a magpie take shiny and interesting objects home, These bits of stone look like arrow heads or something, what do you think? find.jpg

Frankn

Gold Member
Mar 21, 2010
Maryland
Detector(s) used
The top one possibly, but it is hard to tell. May I suggest that you place the light directly over the object, or light from both sides to avoid shadows. Frank...

111-1 profilecracked.jpg

OP
OP
mclean

mclean

Jul 21, 2013
Scotland
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
arrow 001.jpg

Here's a better picture, looks a little like an arrow head.

Frankn

Gold Member
Mar 21, 2010
Maryland
Detector(s) used
Hay, now that is a good picture. I never got into arrowheads, only have one. There are a couple of threads here where the guys are really good at rocks and arrowheads, even stone knives. You should post in one of those. Frank...

6 06-2 YELLOWSTONE 035-1.jpg

OP
OP
mclean

mclean

Jul 21, 2013
Scotland
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks Frank, those pictures are smart are they near where you live.

Frankn

Gold Member
Mar 21, 2010
Maryland
Detector(s) used