Electric Cars

Staci (Fargo ND)

Aug 29, 2006
Fargo, ND
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was just thinking about these electric cars I've seen driving around. I think they're called Smart Cars?

It's great to save gas and go "green". I just wonder...even though you're saving gasoline does anyone figure in the financial cost of electricity, and more importantly the process of creating electricity and its cost?? Creating electricity requires coal, oil, or gas.

Do you really save anything in the end, especially if your sole reason for driving one is to be "green"? Electricity is not free, and is not a clean process either. Just because we don't actually see the fuel being used does not mean it isn't, right?

I'm not an expert and am just looking for some feedback. What about a diesel hybrid, or this "algae fuel" that I see is so easy and inexpensive to create? Algae is even good for our environment, soaking up our carbon dioxide.

djabend

Dec 12, 2006
Cicero, NY
Detector(s) used
White's DFX 300 Sunray DX-1 probe/ XLT Sunray XL-1 probe
Hi Staci,
I drive a Toyota Prius, not to be green, but because I like the car and like getting 50-55 MPG.
I understand making the car and disposing of the cars components are harmful to the environment.
So for me its not about being green.
The smart fortwo car is not electric, unless you are talking about the smart fortwo EV,
which is being released in the UK under a limited lease. The smarts you see are likely gas powered.

HH,
Donny

OP
OP
Staci (Fargo ND)

Staci (Fargo ND)

Aug 29, 2006
Fargo, ND
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Donny,

Thanks for the input. I'm looking for it from both sides, and will not take offense to anyone's opinions.