Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo county

Toniw

Dec 26, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am just starting out with detecting. I have been doing some reading about my area, but does anyone who is familiar with the California central coast have any suggestions on more specific locations for me?

I went to a local beach the other day. Mostly bottle caps which I took home and discarded but I did find a few coins. One penny in particular is very crusted. I have been reading about ways to clean coins but I would like input from you as to the best method so as not to compromise the coin.

Thanks in advance. I love this hobby! Can't wait to get out again. I keep looking at my calendar and trying to schedule in time.

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Welcome from Salinas, CA. Were you on the wet beach? Or dry sand on the beach ? If you were trying the wet, then be aware: We've been in a nearly 2 month lull, of no swells in CA. Hence the inter-tidal wet zone of all the beaches is "sanded in". Dry sand is less fun (just random placement, all clad, no rhyme or reason). Unless you're in a very thick touristy beach, then something like the volley-ball courts could be good to angle for jewelry on dry sand (assuming you're not facing lots of other md'r competition in your area that keeps them thinned out).

As for "spots", you're not going to be likely to get guys to reveal spots capable of turning up older coins. I mean, sure, the obvious old parks or whatever. But if they were good, go figure they've long-since been hammered . And are often stingy to pull more oldies from. And old-timers are not likely to give out prime spots they've researched and are pulling old coins from . Eg.: stage stop sites, old resort or defunct yester-year picnic grounds, etc... Because of course, they intend to work it themselves :)