CZ-5 problem. Bad coil wire?

The Buzzard King

Mar 29, 2005
N.E.P.A.
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ-5, Fisher 1280-X
I got a problem with my CZ-5, and I'm hoping for some quick help here.
I bought it used last year, and it's worked PERFECTLY till today.
But I did notice it acting kind of strange, (LOTS of falsing), the other day when I had it out.

Here's the problem.
As soon as I turn the detector on, it immediately starts doing the "overload signal", and will not stop.
The only thing that will stop the overload signal, is to turn it off, or turn the sensitivity knob to the "battery check" mode. (which sound normal when I do it).
BUT, it ONLY seems to be "acting up" when the coil is plugged in.
If I remove the coil, the detector housing seems to be normal. (no noise, battery-check works fine, etc.)
I removed the components from the housing, to give them a visual inspection, and a good cleaning with "dust-off", and everything seems fine. (of course, I'm no expert though).
So, can a coil wire gone bad, make the detector go crazy, and make it have a continuous overload signal?
I know when the coil wire on my 1280 went bad, it was making wacky sounds.
And I'll admit I'm guilty of occasionally using the coil as a weed-wacker.
I only have the one 8' spider coil, and I don't know anyone near me with another coil that fits, so I can't do a test.
Any advice?
Thanks in advance.

Sky Pilot

Bronze Member
Dec 2, 2007
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Several Fisher, Tesoro, White's and Garrett's