Is my f2 broken or is this nomal! Please help!!!

Bah Bam

Jun 20, 2012
Eau claire wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Fisher f2
I am fairly new to this hobby, i got an f2 for fathersday and years ago had a cz5. I have had the 8 inch coil only on the f2 so far. Anyways, the reading will say zinc then, switch to iron then go to quarter, then dime, sometimes a nickel and not necessarily in that order! But seems to gives you a variety of possibilities and then i dig and get like a bottle cap or penny or foil! Wouldnt foil register as foil and dime as dime, etc? I mean, it cant tell you exactly whats there but why does it say something different with every sweep? Is my coil bad? Any suggestions? Ive turned the sensitivity down and that did help weed out a bit of the issue but still acts up! Is this normal. Wisconsin area sand and dirt soil!

Kbron2000

May 17, 2012
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sovereign GT ,Fisher F2 DD Coil, NEL Tornado Coil, Garret Propointer ....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You have to tune your ears to the tones of your machine, I do most of the time... To give you an example the screen sometimes shows a quarter reading and you end up with pennies, or bottle caps! dimes and you end up with silver coins or rings etc.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This is what is wrong with detectors that can't lock on. Even the AT Pro hangs on a wall because of this. I prefer to use a Beep and dig detector like the Tesoro's and let my ears do the Id'ing. Also the disc settings are more accurate.

Paulsj

Jun 21, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting