I do not remember seeing this posted...

James/Texas

Mar 6, 2008
Edinburg, Texas
Detector(s) used
Many. A lot. Whole bunch. Several.
Do you hunt in trashy places with the Fisher F series detector? Well, I do and if you are like me, I have been discriminating out the tabs to keep the junk from driving my mind crazy. I have been doing this since 2009 when I purchased my F75. I do have the DST upgrade. Let me give you a tip that may suit your detector setup and able you to get more finds. If you discriminate out everything except nickels, (anything above 64 can not be discriminated) then you could be missing some coins. Why? Because the F series detectors, and most other detectors as well, will 'average' up or down on multiple targets in the ground. Say there is a dime (or penny) and an inch or two away is a nickel and you sweep over them, and have 'Tabs' discriminated out, you will NOT get a signal. Nothing! If you add in 'Tabs' then you WILL get a signal. The signal will be in the 'Tab' range somewhere around 46 to 49 because the detector has averaged the signal. This will happen in any process while in 'Disc'. There is not a problem in 'All Metal". You can perform a test of your own to verify this. I hunt in modern, trashy parks, so this is known and accepted by me. You guys that hunt in some older parks could easily pass up some shield or V nickels so I thought I would mention this in a post. Hope this is of some help.

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I just discriminate out low iron ("5" or so) and then pay attention to the display. If the target is solid when swept two directions and as the coil is lifted I dig. If it "falls apart" or jumps around I don't.