Geological formation?

C

coondog

This thing has been in the family now for approximately 80 years, I'm told. It was plowed up in one of our cornfields back in the 1920's in upstate South Carolina.
The exterior texture is granular like sedimentary rock. The interior surface is more smooth, slightly glazed and exhibits a more uniform yellow brown color. It weighs about 9 pounds and is roughly 9 inches across and 4 inches thick at its widest points.
When you tap on it it "sings" like tapping on a ceramic coffee cup!

I am by no means an expert in these things but my best guess is that it is earth that once surrounded a tree root. The forest burned and the intense heat cooked it into a ceramic.
Does anybody have any theories as to what it may be?

Attachments

• Donut.JPG
    Donut.JPG
    161.2 KB · Views: 382
  • dnut otherside.JPG
    dnut otherside.JPG
    150.9 KB · Views: 364
  • dnutside2.JPG
    dnutside2.JPG
    156.9 KB · Views: 365
  • dnut inside.JPG
    dnut inside.JPG
    182.2 KB · Views: 374
  • dnut side.JPG
    dnut side.JPG
    153.4 KB · Views: 355

watercolor

Silver Member
Feb 3, 2007
Arlington Heights, IL
Detector(s) used
V3i, MXT-All Pro and Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That's an interesting piece!
If there are any caves/caverns in your area, it could be a broken-off part of a stalactite or stalagmite that was stained by iron oxide minerals .

Take care,
watercolor

Did I just say caves? :o. . . pirates?. . . lost cave treasure? Sounds like you might have a busy summer!

OP
OP
C

coondog

watercolor said:
That's an interesting piece!
If there are any caves/caverns in your area, ......

No known natural caves within 60-70 miles.