Sailsguy

Tenderfoot
Nov 27, 2012
Lake Orion Michigan
Detector(s) used
Fisher F5, Garrett Pin Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm relatively new to metal detecting but I've enjoyed antique hunting for years going to many antique stores, garage sales and estate sales. I tend to focus on advertising items and coin op but will buy anything I think is cool and priced right. Well about two weeks ago my wife and I were at an estate sale being held by a company. There was a lot of junk and nothing that interested me. I was ready to leave but my wife was no where to be found. So to kill time I started to look at all the small items up front. This something i almost never do. There were some men's watches without watch bands. They looked old but nothing special. I grabbed one and tried to turn the stem and it didn't move. I figured it must be broken. The manufactures name was "Tudor" and it was a "Air Tiger". This meant nothing to me I don't know anything about watches. But when I took a closer look I noticed a crown symbol on the winder. I looked at the back but it was covered by a sticker. I removed it and then I saw the words "Rolex". At this point I'm interested so I ask "How much". She says they were $5 but everything is now half price so they are only $2.50 each. "I'll take it". Turns out the the winder was screwed in and once I was able to unlock and wind the watch works great. I bought a band for it and now I have a vintage 1960 Tudor Air Tiger manufactured by Rolex.

I hope you enjoyed my story and don't forget to look at the small stuff.

Happy New Year!

Tudor-air-tiger.jpg Tudor-works.jpg

GibH

Silver Member
May 17, 2009
Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Surf PI Pro/MXT/Quattro/Sovereign XS2 Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sweet find. I shall have to look closer at watches, I didn't know Rolex sold under a different brand.

05tbowner

Greenie
Oct 16, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting