What Do I have Here Is This Chinese Japanese Help Please.

chadkeath

Jan 30, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi gang. I got this at a thrift store and thought it was interesting. It seems old and is hand carved. Has Carved Chinese or Japanese lettering on the side as well as a design. Lid comes off. Has a handle. Any idea's and if anyone can read what this says. Thanks. DSC04015.JPG DSC04016.JPG DSC04017.JPG DSC04018.JPG

randazzo1

Bronze Member
Feb 1, 2006
New York, NY
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites (CM 5000, XLT, VX3) and Minelab (Svgn GT & Excal III & Equinox)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi - I think it's Chinese. Assuming its not old - it should be written from left to right in Western style. I'm not good at this but I recognize some of the characters in the last photo. In the first line -- the last two characters (from left to right) look like neng shi -- which should mean something like "able to serve" or "pemitted to help". I also think the last character in the second line is ren "man". I remember that one because ren ren is "people" and I recall being pleasantly surprised at home simple it was to go from the singular man (ren) to the plueal (ren ren).

randazzo1

Bronze Member
Feb 1, 2006
New York, NY
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Any idea what it is?

Yeah - sorry - it's a water bucket. If it's original, its probably valuable. BUT - a lot of times you see them incorporated into water fountains and they are reproductions. Usually something like Buddha holding a bucket dumping water into a pond.

diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Okay, at first I thought it was a wishing well or something. I know nothing when it comes to Asian anything, but it looks old just from looking at the cracks/shrinkage in the wood itself. Of course they do fake that too nowadays so...