Flippers: Are you part time or full time in this business?

clovis97

Silver Member
Dec 9, 2010
I am curious who else is a full time reseller.

Are you part time in this business, or full time?

Is there anyone else deriving 100% of their income from buying and reselling?

I've met a bunch of retirees with Social Security income and retirement income that say they are active full timers in reselling business. And I've met quite a few people with passive income streams, like farm, rental or investment income that are full timers, but is there anyone else who is really doing the buy and flip thing full time with no other income other than what you can find and sell?

I've also met many 'full timers' who have a spouse that is still working a full time job with a steady paycheck and benefits.

I've been reselling for about 10 years, and went full time into this business about 5 years ago. Two years ago, my wife left her full time job and joined me in the ebay and flea market business, and 100% of our income is derived from what we find, drag home, and flip.

It was a lot easier back when she was working full time. Those paychecks eased our cash flow tremendously, giving me the opportunity to out-earn her year 'round. It is a whole different story now, with a shrinking economy and we are cash flowing all​ of our business out of our own pockets.

What is your story, and are you full time, or just part time, seeking to supplement your income?

Lost&Found

Jul 27, 2013
NYC
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I guess I'm in between the two.
Presently, I flip part time. But in about a year I will be hanging up the 9-5, retire and begin collecting my pension. With my free time I will do more searching, buying and selling. On my present job I have to work most weekends. So my yardsale/estate sale and ability to attend auctions has been limited.