First big auto parts score!

Baltimore

Feb 18, 2013
Maryland/Vermont
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey All,

Figured I'd update everyone on my junkyard trolling! I went several times last fall and got a handful of stuff, discovered a few easy to pull $2 items that move quickly at $45 and such, which was nice. On one trip I found a severely totaled 2004 BMW 745li, a pretty nice car. I knew it was full of valuable parts, but as a total junkyard newbie I didn't want to gamble. On my last trip to the yard a few days later I decided I needed to buy something off of it just to try, so I bought all 5 headrests for $40. They were super clean and I figured there might be some money there. Fast forward to yesterday when I finally pulled them out, photographed them, and listed them. This morning I wake up and the two front headrests have already sold, for $250 + shipping! Looks like I'm going back!

20150305_Mbowman_2389.JPG

Oregon Viking

Gold Member
Jan 6, 2014
Brookings-Harbor Oregon
Detector(s) used
White's prizm IV
Keene A52 with Gold Hog mats
Gold-N-Sand hand dredge
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I know the local junk yard owner here. They just crush everything, if you want something...pull it yourself. he told me strip it, ebay it, give me 30% (he doesn't do ebay). Dash parts are worth a fortune! Glove box, instrument bezels, door panels etc.
Someone needs to start an auto parts thread, list the popular cars/parts. I check out new arrivals and look them up on ebay. Current auctions and sold listings. I just looked up sold listings BMW 745....wow!

Last edited:

Bassmaster96

Bronze Member
Feb 5, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting