May 6, 2009
NC USA
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac, Minelab Excalibur, White's MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I hit an estate sale and found this heavy goblet. I flipped it over and it was marked 925. For $4 I bought it. It wasn't until I got home I saw the inside the cup an acid test. Not silver! Bummer. I then hit a flea market and on a $1 table was a stack of nine bread plates. The very first one was marked Sterling so I bought them all without checking. Turns out 7 are Sterling and 6 are marked on the edge of the dimple. It is my first time seeing it there. Easy to miss. 18.33 ozt. The best part was one of the plated ones is a dinner favor from the official launch dinner of the USS Nimitz on May 13, 1972. Should be quite collectable. ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471198885.891037.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471198899.014372.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471198676.304712.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471198691.383765.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471198703.450460.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471198722.943487.jpg

Last edited:

captain flintlock

Jul 21, 2015
Detector(s) used
Tesoro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice rebound on the plates. If it were me, I think I would have passed on the goblet. But I've bought my share of stinkers too! Live and learn. But a heck of a comeback!!

Beachkid23

Silver Member
Oct 26, 2013
fort myers fl
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What a score on the plates!

When I first got into all of this I answered an ad on craigslist for sterling silver bread plates. I drove a 45 min down the road go to some lady's house looked so shady, knocked on her door give her $200 after I looked over them and weighed and tested them. As I'm walking away she says out load so I can hear...
" told you, there's a sucker born every day".