Need help with my new Ace 250 (false signals)

snyper77

Nov 27, 2008
Greenwood, Mississippi
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
I'm very new to this hobby and I'm using an Ace 250. After several hours of use, I'm annoyed. Running the unit in coin-mode and the factory sensitivity setting (6 bars and 2 blank). I tried backing it down to 5 bars (3 blank) and it still seems to do the same thing. Let me explain what it does: While swinging, I'll get a beep. I'll swing over the spot again, nothing. Swing again, nothing. Swing again, and it BEEPS! So, it's very iffy and very hard to get a solid signal on each pass. I've tried swinging from different angles, moving around the targets, etc. Many times, the signal will totally disappear on me! Is there something wrong with my Ace250? It's very annoying to "get excited" when I get a beep...then stand there, swinging back and forth 20 times, trying to get a steady signal. Thanks in advance for your help.

Eu_citzen

Gold Member
Sep 19, 2006
Sweden
Detector(s) used
White's V3, Minelab Explorer II & XP Deus.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Well I don't have the Ace. But lowering the sensitivity would be my first choice of doing.

See how low you have to go to get it stable with the sensitivity.
As the ground balance is pre-set it can only ignore a certain amount of minerals and that is a problem for certain areas.. My second guess.

But don't take my word for it.. Wait until other ace users pass by.

JP

Bronze Member
May 5, 2006
Florida & San Salvador, El Salvador
Detector(s) used
Excalibur 1000, Garrett Infinium LS, Garrett Sea Hunter II, Ace 250 (for my 12 year old son)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Each machine is different but try this; turn the sensitivity down to 4 bars or 3.