Ace 250 and Tones...

GlassyEyed

Oct 15, 2009
Miami, Florida
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ-21, Tesoro Tiger Shark & Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I recently bought an Ace 250 and took it out yesterday for the first official test...here is my problem:

First of all, in the all metal mode, I was getting a variety of tones which was great. But it seems like I get a ton of tones registering in the dime slot. So I would switch it to jewelry and still rcvd the tones. I then put it in coins and of course the tones were still there. So I dig all of these targets I thought were dimes and come up nails, pieces of copper, a strip of wire, and of all things a foot long file.

After the first few mis-toned items I started playing with the sensitivity, but nothing seemed to help. I kept getting these dime/coin tones, but was digging everything but coins. Out of the 20 or so items I dug; I got only 1 penny and 1 dime.

My location was a 2 acre backyard at my bro-inlaws house. I figured that would be a good place to practice my digging/plugging techniques.

Anyways...any ideas for me to try? Thanks.

mcdpoor

Mar 14, 2009
Missouri
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 250
Does not sound right to me.. I can see the copper wires registering but iron should never be in that area unless it may be round or of similar shape to a coin. example a bolt head or nut. But that is rare. I hope you get more responses but my ACE 250 if it says it is a dime it will be a dime or penny. My suggestion would be to call Garrett and maybe get a checkup on your ACE.

Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting