A Little More Info On The AT PRO (Oct.20)

John-Edmonton

Silver Member
Mar 21, 2005
Canada
Detector(s) used
Garrett- Master Hunter CX,Infinium, 1350, 2500, ACE 150-water converted 250, GTA 500,1500 Scorpion, AT Pro
This was posted on another forum last week:

"I see all kinds of speculation going on about this Det. We had one up here, a few weeks back, for testing in our black sand beaches. It is pretty impresive especially in the PRO mode. We called every bottle cap and every coin right on the money. Thats not a easy task in these highly mineralized beaches. The depth is better than we've had in the past and beat all the competator models we had with us. I think you'll be as impresed as I was.
TRWEAV

When asked about his whereabouts, he responded:

In Idaho the trouble is magnetite, FE304, very tough on getting a true ID.

John Tanner

Sep 30, 2010
Ouch......

I am not an expert but find this VERY misleading for those of us interested in this detectors performance in salt water and the magnetic black sands found in placer deposits which contain the rare earth elements that cause problems for many detectors which is very different than the coarse basalt black sands commonly found on beaches.

Most ā€˜black sand beachesā€™ are created by volcanic basalt which sometimes has SOME magnetite in it AKA FE304. Beach sands are geologically young, so that the magnetite has not had time to oxidize and degrade.