New guy, some advice.

CollegeKevin

Tenderfoot
Feb 6, 2011
Millersville, PA
How's it going everyone. My names Kevin and I am a student at Millersville University in PA. I am a new guy to hunting and metal detectors in general. I have done some research and am trying to decide between the Garrett Ace 250 and the Garrett AT Pro. I like the 250 because of the price but am worried that I might outgrow it and want something a little more. I guess what I am asking is whether or not I should just put the money up for the newer AT Pro or if I should just start off with the Ace 250. I am not the type that losses interest in things so I know its not something I would buy and just use once.

*I hope I'm posting in the right section. Thanks for your guys advice in advance. ;D

Smudge

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2010
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
A Propointer tied to a stick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Kevin,

Welcome aboard!

I would not worry about outgrowing a 250. You see an awful lot of people have used theirs for quite some time and have been making some fantastic finds.

The better technology of the AT Pro is a plus, though.

If you were regularly planning on going beach hunting, I'd shell out the extra cash and get the AT.

From what I can see, the biggest plus to the AT, besides being waterproof, is the pinpointing is better and in PRO mode you can actually tell the difference between a bottle cap and quarter, something much harder to do with the 250.

What does everyone else think?

CWnut

May 9, 2003
E. Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Tesoro tigershark----Tesoro Conquistador Umax------Fisher FX-3----Master Hunter CX-Plus w/ depth multiplier
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
look at the ace 350 before you decide...

welcome to Tnet and metal detecting hobby, best of luck to ya

coin hunter

Jan 13, 2008
Sidney, NY
Detector(s) used
Garrett,1500 , 2500, AT PRO, Garrett Pin pointer,AT Gold
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting