Central Indiana

DesertNuggets

Mar 29, 2011
Tucson, AZ
Detector(s) used
Gold Bug 2
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Bumping the coil and causing false signals is 100% normal with lots of detectors.

I dig lots of bs too. Thats normal. :)

neuseman

Mar 11, 2011
Beaufort NC
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 and Omega 8000
It depends on the size of the target being detected. Im new to the hobby but ive seen this on videos about the AT Pro. I think the smaller targets will be a bit shallower than what the depth scale reads. The larger targets being detected will be a bit deeper than what the depth scale reads. You might want to double check my assumptions but I think I got it right. Anyway I have the Ace 250 and when the coil is bumped it will false. I think most detectors do this. Copper pennies on my machine a lot of times register as a dime. I think the depth of the coin and its position in the ground has some effect on this. The new pennies most of the time register as a penny on my machine. 99 percent of the time when my machine registers a quarter on the scale it is a quarter. I hope this helps you with your machine.

nhagan

Jul 27, 2010
Illinois
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
My father has the 250. I just grabbed a 350 about two weeks ago. I have also noticed a big difference between the two (DD coil plays a big part in their difference). My 350 will false even if I swing and lift from parallel to slightly out from parallel (angled to ground). From what I have been told its somewhat common (annoying but I will get used to it). I hunt with both the 250 and 350 off and on. I feel both are wonderful detectors. I am still learning with the 350 but am getting better with it every time out.