mpro1

Feb 22, 2008
Long Island, New York
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
At Pro
Ace
New to the Garrett AT Pro a Few ??'s

Hello, I am new to the AT Pro, I started out with the ACE 250. I like to hunt the saltwater beaches on LI NY. The AT Pro seems very very chirpy in the wet sand and rocks. With the Ace 250 I was able to overcome this by notching out all but the top 4 bars. With this the 250 was able to pick out the silver no problem and function was stable with sens at six....It was my hope that the ATPro would function more stable in the salt so that I would not have to discriminate so much and miss targets. I ran the AT Pro in Pro mode Coins.....sens 6 Ground balance Auto around (35) sometimes (40) near the wet........I found it very difficult to pick out the difference between falsing, and a possible deep good target because of all the noise, chirping, & falsing .....Shallow good targets were easily Identifiable.......Also No issues in the dry sand or parks..

Any Suggestions on Settings etc?

BTW I purchased it from Big Boy Hobbies, and would highly recommend them Great prices, fast shipping!

Last edited:

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
AT Pro is more sensitive and has adjustable GB. It can be GB in the dry sand for hunting in the dry sand. An you need to GB again for hunting the wet. Your 250 was lucky to hunt the wet at all. Even with the AT Pro GB set for the wet sand, your going to have to cut down the sens to stop the chirping. Thats why the Excal's, Sov GT, and CZ21 are so popular for the wet sand along with the PI's which aren't bothered at all.

OP
OP
M

mpro1

Feb 22, 2008
Long Island, New York
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
At Pro
Ace