Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By signal_line

Thread: Garret AT Gold Metal Detector

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »

Jul 2012
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

Garret AT Gold Metal Detector

Hi. I am thinking of purchasing the Garret AT Gold Metal Detector to assist with gold panning in Colorado's High country. Does anyone have any experience and/or opinions on this device? I am totally new to this hobby and just wondering if it is worth the investment.

Also, I am concerned about what I can or can not do on both USFS National Forrest and BLM in Colorado. I have read some information regarding the antiquites act as to where you can not use a metal detector. I am hoping to engage someone with experience in Colorado.
    Thanks,
    Warchief

us
    Nov 2011
    108 times
    Well, since no one wants to offer anything, I will take a stab at it. As I understand there is not much in the way of big nuggets in Colo. so something like the AT Gold is probably what you are looking for. Is it worth it? I can't answer that for you. Obviously if you are not in a gold producing area, no detector is going to make gold appear. LOL If you have a known nugget producing area, then you have a chance. Otherwise you probably want a shovel and a sluice box and a lot of elbow grease. Dig down to bedrock. Or just the opposite, when some people find some nuggets with a detector they get out the shovel and sluice the area. Obviously more people find gold jewelry than nuggets. The AT Gold will work for that, too.
    Where your heart is, there you will find your treasure.

O God of compassion, You alone can justify me and Your will never reject me when I, contrite, approach Your Merciful Heart, where no one has ever been refused, even if he were the greatest sinner. For Your Son assured me: Sooner would heaven and earth turn into nothingness than would My mercy fail to embrace a trusting soul.

Charter Member
    us