Garret AT Gold Metal Detector

warchief

Jul 17, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi. I am thinking of purchasing the Garret AT Gold Metal Detector to assist with gold panning in Colorado's High country. Does anyone have any experience and/or opinions on this device? I am totally new to this hobby and just wondering if it is worth the investment.

Also, I am concerned about what I can or can not do on both USFS National Forrest and BLM in Colorado. I have read some information regarding the antiquites act as to where you can not use a metal detector. I am hoping to engage someone with experience in Colorado.
Thanks,
Warchief

signal_line

Silver Member
Nov 14, 2011
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well, since no one wants to offer anything, I will take a stab at it. As I understand there is not much in the way of big nuggets in Colo. so something like the AT Gold is probably what you are looking for. Is it worth it? I can't answer that for you. Obviously if you are not in a gold producing area, no detector is going to make gold appear. LOL If you have a known nugget producing area, then you have a chance. Otherwise you probably want a shovel and a sluice box and a lot of elbow grease. Dig down to bedrock. Or just the opposite, when some people find some nuggets with a detector they get out the shovel and sluice the area. Obviously more people find gold jewelry than nuggets. The AT Gold will work for that, too.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting