Bronze Member
Apr 2, 2011
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Currently using: XP DEUS, T2 SE and the Garret Carrot lol
Have used: Garret Ace 250, Garret AT Pro, Garret Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I'm still learning my machine just got it and was having trouble with pinpointing it's not like my 250, is it the very first rectangle the one closest to the shaft the main point for the the pinpoint or the 2nd or 3rd? I have no idea lol

OP
OP
JmCraz8

JmCraz8

Bronze Member
Apr 2, 2011
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Is there any good tips/or techniques you all use?

GrizLeeBear

Jan 18, 2013
Full Time In An RV
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 1500
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Pinpointing is usually done as an "X" pattern. Move back and forth, noting the strongest signal. Then move 90 degrees to the side and do the same thing. The intersection of the X is the spot. Many soil factors can affect where your machine sees the target, but the X will get you close.

OP
OP
JmCraz8

JmCraz8

Bronze Member
Apr 2, 2011
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Pinpointing is usually done as an "X" pattern. Move back and forth, noting the strongest signal. Then move 90 degrees to the side and do the same thing. The intersection of the X is the spot. Many soil factors can affect where your machine sees the target, but the X will get you close.

Thanks, I'll definitely try that technique.

Trackerman

Jan 23, 2009
Detector(s) used
Whites Dual Field Pi/Whites Dfx/ Garrett At Pro/Garrett Ace 250/ Whites M6/ Detector Pro Pirate /Tesoro Sand Shark/
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV/ Bounty Hunter Tracker II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Easiest way to pinpoint on the at is press pinpoint on target go forward till signal fades then back till signal fades then left till signal fades then right till signal fades. If it fades in all directions your target will be in the center where the coil target is.

Moonrover

Jul 17, 2012
Cambridge, MA