The truth about the AT Pro

rikdafish

Tenderfoot
Mar 18, 2013
So I've been using a whites classic sl for many years and love it. Except at the beach in wet sand. I live in Massachusetts. I was considering a n at pro. I bought a prism 6 t. Hated it. Sold it. I've read a lot of good things about the at pro, but I am concerned about the people that say it cheaply made. Is this true? I don't want to purchase a machine on line or from Kellyco and find out its a piece of ****. Who do I believe? Help

Reelsnrods

Feb 13, 2013
Nantucket
Detector(s) used
AT Pro
CZ-20
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I just bought a couple detectors this year, and am living on the beach in Mass, so I had the same concerns as you.

I bought the AT because of its weather proof qualities and because it was said to work in saltwater for some. Its a great drysand and land machine for sure. We have white sand here in general, but at the swimming beaches I hit a lot of iron bearing stones, so between the saltwater, wet sand and those stones, I've had to leave my discrimination pretty high in the wet conditions. To use in the water, I decided to buy a used cz20 as backup detector, and it is quiet as a church mouse in the saltwater... Just chiming on targets.

I'm new to both machines, and maybe the AT could be tuned better for the salt, but I've followed the online tutorials for ground balancing and discrimination.

Hope that helps and happy hunting!

Metal Detecting Stuff

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Mar 19, 2012
Spring TX
Detector(s) used
CTX3030/F75LTD/ Garrett AtPro/ XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
One of the best machine for the beach is the Minelab Excalibur II, if that isn't in your budget, the AT Pro will work. You have to ground balance, and wet salt normally ground balances between 0-20. If you get a lot of "chatter" in the water, turn your sensitivity down a little. It will still hit hard on coins and jewelry through the chatter.

Wayne