Possible silly question

Patrick14

Jul 4, 2012
Richmond Va.
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250, Bounty Hunter Tracker IV, Garrett Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
O.k I'm still learning so bear with me. I was using my new Ace 250 today and I have a field that once had an old gravel road that ran through it many years ago. Believe me if you dig about 4 inches you hit solid gravel. My detector keeps showing coins (or something) but then when I dig I find nothing. Can the gravel under the surface cause a "false" signal? I don't have a pinpointer yet so if there is something there perhaps that will help when I get one. Sorry if this is a stupid question but I gotta learn.:icon_thumleft:

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There are no stupid questions. The gravel can cause false signals and so can hot rocks and cinders. You can try and turn up the disc and back off the sens. The only way around this is with many Minelabs.

christo000

Silver Member
Mar 17, 2013
mass North Attleboro
Detector(s) used
Xp Deus,m-6 pinpointer, technetics t2ltd (had, whites v3i,minelab xterra 705,atpro,prism 4,sunray probe minlabe profind,garret propointer, f75ltd and many more)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sandman's right the man's got lots of experience & knows what he is talking about when it comes to detectors & detecting so I'd go with what he says good luck out there hh

OP
OP
P

Patrick14

Jul 4, 2012
Richmond Va.
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Thanks Sandman for the help:thumbsup:

gleaner1

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2009
Gateway to the 1000 Islands
Detector(s) used
Sometime(s)
Primary Interest:
Other