AT PRO OR AT GOLD?

recentlycured

Jun 28, 2013
Hi,I am kind of new at detecting but have had lots of really good finds with my first detector(Teknetics Delta 4000)....I really want a Garrett AT mainky for the waterproof feature and capabilities.....I enjoy searching for coins of all years and countries ...U.S. especially of course....and colonial and civil war type relics.....and jewelery ......my question is to any of you members what do you feel is more suited to this?The pro or gold?....The soil around me is pretty good...have not run into any highly mineralized soil yet.

Adrian SS

Dec 7, 2008
Canberra
Detector(s) used
LST, BDHI,Infinium,Sov XS,6000DI Pro SL,Scorpion,V-SAT,Spectrum XLT,Gold Spear,Scorpion,Sand Shark, Compadre,Sierra Madre,Safari, SDC2300, Sea Hunter,CS4PI,TDI OZ Pro, Vallon VMH3CS. Gardiner 202A
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
The AT Gold & AT Pro are very good detectors and if you like discrimination then I would suggest the Pro because it has good discrimination capability and will work well in salt water and can handle quite high levels of ground iron minerals, so you can take it into the gold fields but expect a bit of hot rock noise now and again
The AT Gold has two Disc modes and iron ID. It has a no motion VLF true All Metal mode and can ground balance quite high iron minerals. This detector will not function in wet salt mineralisation and can also be noisy in the dry sand.
The AT Gold is a good coin and relic detector which will suit a dig it all type of detectorist but not at the beaches. The prime purpose of the AT Gold is for mineralised gold field detecting. This detector is performing well here in Australia as a gold detector and also has a strong coin and relic popularity, but not on salt beaches.

Just my opinion; Others may have a different view.

Last edited:
OP
OP
recentlycured

recentlycured

Jun 28, 2013