2 silver mercs @ public park for the newbie

C L A D Z I L L A

May 8, 2014
Detector(s) used
AT Pro
Garrett pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've had my AT Pro for about a month. And love it! I'm new to MD'ing and have about 40 hours on the machine. Sometimes I'm skeptical about its ability to give consistent signals from +5" but it may just be my lack of practice.

The 2 mercury dimes I found were about 20' apart so I'm hoping there's more nearby. The first one I had the large stock coil on and the signal was very inconsistent, in pro coin mode, ground balance adjust down to 70.. It it was primary 84, to 90 but occasionally popped mid 70s. It was about 6" down and directly below about a 1 1/2 inch root,, would that affect the signal??

I've been primarily using the 5x8 and shortly after this find I ditched the large coil again because it was so difficult to pinpoint with multiple targets around.

The second dime was a great learning experience. The signal bounced from mostly a loud 94 to 84 but occasionally 78 and the tone would roll,, I was thinking maybe foil or can slaw.... I understand the dig it all mantra but this is located at a mow every other day soccer complex with games every day and a grounds crew that has been keeping a close eye on me but hasn't bounced me yet and I want to keep it that way. Long story short I found the merc around 6" back filled rescanned and got a consistent hit again which turned out to be a dime sized foil about an inch over from the original plug... I don't think I would have dug this with the large coil... Lol anyway so much to learn

Love this forum it's helped a lot, thanks everybody

Attachments

• image-1777856485.jpg
    image-1777856485.jpg
    100.3 KB · Views: 92
  • image-1209565717.jpg
    image-1209565717.jpg
    75 KB · Views: 103
  • image-1696220041.jpg
    image-1696220041.jpg
    75.4 KB · Views: 96

Jeremy S

Feb 27, 2012
God's Country
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used