ATX: A running log of my experinces.

Gath

Dec 20, 2014
SE Kansas
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to this hobby and forum but wanted to share my experiences with the ATX. I thought it would be neat to be able look back on this thread after I have had a few years of detecting under my belt and see how much I have changed. I also thought it might be helpful to other people starting this hobby to read about my failures and success's. Unfortunately I didn't think about keeping data on my hunts until I made my first good find so that's where I will be starting from. It should be said that before I made my first good find I had approximately 15 hours of ATX use that resulted in digging up a lot of junk iron, aluminum cans, pull tabs etc... Please feel free to critique or criticize my techniques.

First Find - 11/30/2014

Location - South East Kansas. Private property with no physical structures or foundations on property. The land consisted of a combination of crop land and pasture. The reason I was interested in detecting at this location was due to an isolated row of cedar trees that separated the crop land from the pasture. Growing up in this area I realized cedar trees are a sign of old homestead locations and/or other buildings to block the north wind.

Historic Significance - Talked to a few local old timers (age range 78-91) about the location and all of them had a different story about what use to be at there however none of them remembered an actual building being there. The stories they shared with me were based on what family and friends had told them through out their lifetime.

Weather - 63 degrees Sunny

Ground condition - Moist from precipitation two day earlier

ATX Settings - Performed frequency scan then ground balance.

Sensitivity: 10
Threshold: 7
Volume: 7 (with headphones)
Ground Track: OFF
Motion Mode
Coil Cover ON

All Items found at a depth of 8" and all in the same hole.