Falsing on Grass

Trapper John

Dec 29, 2014
St Helens, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
No. I am not referring to the 420 version soon to be legal here in Orygun.

What I mean is the signal I frequently get when the AT PRO standard coil bumps either the ground surface or comes in contact with a single blade of grass - something I have read about elswhere in this forum. Here's a bit of background.

I am a newbie and coming up the learning curve with less than 100 hours on my md. I am perfectly happy with learning as I go, especially with all of the help and information available on this site and on youtube. I have been detecting on beaches along the Columbia River. So far nothing found but clad. I am operating in pro mode, either coin or zero. I check my coil connections frequently as I have found that my machine is prone to loosen up after a few hours of use. I keep the connection finger tight and do not want to over-tighten the coupling. When I get a questionable hit I vary modes and change my sweep angle relative to the target.

I generally dig everything that sounds coinish and am getting better at avoiding bottle caps. Here's my question:

I have the opportunity to work an old home site that is overrun with periwinkle vines. I can dig but do not have the option of whacking away the 6" high vines. (Besides, even if I did my heart would probably attack me before I got the area cleared.) Since the PRO is falsing on single blades of grass I imagine that trying to bull my way through the vines and sweep reasonably close to the ground will result in sounds reminiscent of the bells of Saint Mary's.