What am I doing wrong ?

Mudball

Mar 5, 2015
TN
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold, Garrett Pro Pointer AT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a AT Gold and Im brand new at detecting. Its been raining quite a lot here in the last few days in central TN. I cant give exact numbers from the detector because I dont remember them but I do know that Im in Disc 1 and it acts like iron mostly but jumps around and three or four different times in a row I think Ive found something, or so I think. I go to "All metal" and check and then back to Disc 1 just to double check, and the pinpoint location, and my Disc 1 is set at 37. I dig a circle in the grass, flip the sod over and I go to check to see if I got it or if I need to dig deeper and there is no signal. The same signal I had before is gone. The other thing I forgot to mention is that every time this has happened the numbers are erratic jumping from low to high as well as audio. I am finding some more old nails as apparently this is where an old barn or shed use to be. Tell me what Im doing wrong please when its there but gone after I dig ?

Last edited:

G.A.P.metal

Gold Member
Jul 5, 2010
"Kan-a-we-o-la" Head on a Pole N.Y. Seneca Territo
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus, 11" Low Freq. , 9" X35 Coils, MI 6 Pointer...
Land or Sea Pointer
King Of Spades 40" KS-D SA and 40" KS-S-SA
L
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Lower the Sensitivity...see if that helps...don`t look at the meter for now....dig only nice smooth repeatable sounds.
Or lower sensitivity and dig everything till you know the Detector`s language.
Just try to have fun it will all come to you if you are patient. HH
Gary

OP
OP
M

Mudball

Mar 5, 2015
TN
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Lower the Sensitivity...see if that helps...don`t look at the meter for now....dig only nice smooth repeatable sounds.
Or lower sensitivity and dig everything till you know the Detector`s language.