Threshold question

Mudball

Mar 5, 2015
TN
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold, Garrett Pro Pointer AT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Im new at MDing and have a LOT to learn. I have a Garrett AT Gold.
Anyway I really dont like the constant buzzing sound in my ears through the headphones when the threshold is set to 1 or higher. When I select 00 or anything lower then there is no constant background buzzing sound at all and I seem to hear all the other target audios just fine. Where I hunt now and hope to be hunting will mostly be in quiet areas and I understand from the owners manual that I might want to increase the threshold in noisy areas if need be.
Where do most of you set your threshold ? Do I need to tolerate the buzzing noise and leave the threshold higher ?
My main question is, am I missing any targets with the threshold set to 00 ?

mydogisscout

Feb 25, 2010
Grand Blanc, Mi
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold
Im new at MDing and have a LOT to learn. I have a Garrett AT Gold.
Anyway I really dont like the constant buzzing sound in my ears through the headphones when the threshold is set to 1 or higher. When I select 00 or anything lower then there is no constant background buzzing sound at all and I seem to hear all the other target audios just fine. Where I hunt now and hope to be hunting will mostly be in quiet areas and I understand from the owners manual that I might want to increase the threshold in noisy areas if need be.
Where do most of you set your threshold ? Do I need to tolerate the buzzing noise and leave the threshold higher ?
My main question is, am I missing any targets with the threshold set to 00 ?
My threshold setting is usually -5 and I'm nailing clad targets

OP
OP
M

Mudball

Mar 5, 2015
TN
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thats good to know.
I just want to make sure that Im not loosing a chance to find something for the gain of just barely loosing that annoying buzzing sound.
Thanks

Fletch88

Silver Member