Coil size

Chad1972

Feb 17, 2015
Abilene TX area
Detector(s) used
1 Garrett AT Pro with Nel Sharpshooter coil, 1 AT Pro with a Nel Attack coil, and an Ace 250 (kid's), AT ProPointer, White's TRX pinpointer, Lesche Sampson shovel, Garrett 10" trowel, Viking Digger, S
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It's not the size of your coil...it's how you use it.:laughing7:

Kodiak43351

Bronze Member
May 6, 2013
NW Ohio
Detector(s) used
At Max,Xp deus,At pro, At gold, pro pointer, ace 350 bounty hunter. Lesche hand and t handle digging tools, Sask kustom digger, Garrett edge digger and Garrett retriever, Garrett classifier made into
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The bigger coil is a killer in open farm fields

RobRieman

Silver Member
Nov 12, 2012
Cincinnati Ohio
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's V3i / Minelab E-trac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I just bought an AT Gold, it came with the 5x8 coil, wanting to order the 8 1/2 x 11 but I'm new to this great metal detecting family and would like any thoughts or comments on this, i know the obvious , it will go deeper, but are there any other advantages or disadvantages? Thanks for you help!

Some Advantages:
Larger coils go deeper.
You can cover more ground faster.

Some Disadvantages:
In a real trashy area you will see multiple targets at once.
It's heavier than a small coil.
It harder to swing and get into tight places if you hunt the woods.

Kodiak43351

Bronze Member
May 6, 2013
NW Ohio
Detector(s) used
At Max,Xp deus,At pro, At gold, pro pointer, ace 350 bounty hunter. Lesche hand and t handle digging tools, Sask kustom digger, Garrett edge digger and Garrett retriever, Garrett classifier made into
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting