AT Pro, do I have a bad coil?

topconsurveyor

Dec 27, 2015
Mitchell, IN
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
Ok, so I'm still fairly new to MD'ing but I've had my new AT Pro for about 2 months now and have put in around 100 hours of swinging/digging. Actually the day I got it I had it assembled and dug 3 wheat cents in my first hole about 5 feet from my front door. When I first started using it I never got any falses and when I would ground balance it usually went to like 60-80. Lately however I get constant false high tones pretty much every time my swing changes directions, every time the coil taps anything. Also the ground balancing now runs as high as 89-95 in the same areas that used to be much lower.

I've also been having a hard time getting the "pinpoint" function to work right. About half the time I hold the pinpoint button down I get absolutely nothing, a lot of times it will just scream no matter where I have the coil. I just keep starting and stopping the pinpoint mode until finally after several tries it will start acting right.

Maybe these "problems" are just normal behavior? Or does it sound like I have a bad coil or a malfunctioning machine? I've always taken very good care of it and very careful with it and never had it under water yet..

Thanks

Normsel

Bronze Member
Sep 10, 2012
D'Iberville MS
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-Trac
Equinox 800
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You probably have to reduce your sensitivity to stop it from beeping at the end of a swing or if you bump it. Also when you pin point don't start over the target. Start about 1' away and move to the target.

You may also try to change the frequency and do a manual ground balance.

Read your garrett book over and over and read all you can online