$250 Budget - Prizm II or Ace 250 Or ___ ?

alienbogey

Jun 21, 2007
Western Washington
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Here's the deal:

I have some experience nugget detecting and have recently been doing some coin shooting. I know more than a newbie about detectors but far less than experts here.

I would like to get a detector for my father-in-law who has been showing an interest. In fact, his wife got him one of those super cheap plastic jobs from costco or somewhere that can barely find a nail in and is essetially useless.

As much as I would like to get him a new DFX, there is perhaps $250 in the budget to get him a new detector, and my wife's sister will then get him an accessory or two.

It would be used for coin shooting at least 90% of the time - the usual parks, campgrounds and perhaps old houses/foundations in the woods. He may on very rare occasions get to a saltwater beach. If he ever wanted to chase nuggets he could use my MXT or GMT. Relic hunting is not a factor - not a lot of Civil War battlefields in the Pacific Northwest.

Ease of use is important, although he's one of the handiest guys I know - can fix anything - he's not a big reader or modern technology guy. Also, discrimination is important as, being in his 70's, there are a limited number of times a day he can get down and dig.

The stock coil is important - they're on a very limited budget, so he won't be able to go out and buy a number of different coils or other performance enhancers - at least until he decides whether he really likes the hobby or not.

Those are all the factor I can think of.

Okay, so I've been all over the internet and have pretty much narrowed it down to a White's Prizm II or Garret Ace 250. I'm a White's guy, but the Ace 250 seems like it might fit the bill a little better.

What do you guys think?

P.S. I'm posting this on the White's and Garrett forums, we'll see which crowd can sell me on "their" brand. ;D

drver

Sep 24, 2006
Wilmington, N.C.