AT Pro modes (std coin vs pro zero)

maxxkatt

Jul 16, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been using the AT pro for about 1 1/2 years now. Love the machine. But having problems with locating deep coins and or locating silver coins.
Have been recently hunting a 1900 home site about 1 acre and found civil war bullet, 1912 small oval Georgia metal dashboard license tag.

Plus I hunt an old park that is not hunted that often that I know of. Still no silver coins or old coins other than one wheat. I feel there ought to be some older and silver coins but I am just not skilled at finding deeper coins. I find lots of clad in the park.

I mostly hunt in the pro zero mode with sensitivity 1-2 bars down and iron discrim at about 35 to 40 range.

question one: read an old 2012 post that a guy had a Garrett engineer tell him that you should hunt in the std ground balance setting of 80 if there are no mineralization problems since the machine was optimized or designed for a GB of 80. Anyone know if this is true or makes any sense?

Others say you should ground balance the AT Pro and hunt 2-3 numbers lower.

From reading forums and watching youtube videos I have learned that pro mode means proportional audio depending on depth of target and the std mode will give you the same volume for a coin no matter what the depth.

so will the std coin mode sound off with the bell chime on a deep coin like a deep faint coin in the pro mode? If that is the case I would probably hunt in the coin mode and then when I received a coin bell tone, switch to the pro mode to gain more info on the depth of the coin.Or does the pro zero mode give you more depth ability? So the next question is this a true assumption about the depth ability the same in the pro zero mode as the std coin mode?