Garrett AT PRO issues, OR Operator error?

Perrycolove

Greenie
May 19, 2017
Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
At pro ......gofind 30
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Im new to this but i need input. Ive had my garrett pro actively in use for about 50hrs now. I took it to a spot where ww2 items have been found. It was also a covered up trash site, over grown field etc.
I had to redo my ground balance a few times since it goes from diff soils. With sensitivity half way, iron disc set, my first signal was high, in the 80s.
And i got a normal dime. My second one was high as well, 67, and i got a copper penny. Then it went downhill from there.
Every signal I dug was in the 70 to 99 range. All of it was old beer cans, chunks of bolts, an old top to a mason jar, and i gave up after the last hole..
At pro said 8 inches, ended up being 3ft down and it was a piece of pipe in concrete!!!
What am I doing wrong? At my house which was an old dump site I picked out a small cash of wheats and three mercury dimes right out fron of the house, but the signal is the same to that as compared to tin, aluminum, copper, and nails.
I read somewhere about the coil not seated correct so ill check that, and some serial numbers showed up as false readings which Im curious about.
But my serial number is newer so I kinda dismissed that as well.
Any help would be appreciated. ???

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting