Newbie Help with Ace

jbconner

Jan 13, 2008
Hello,I am new to Metal Dectecting.I bought a new Ace 150 and I wish I would have done more research,I would have got a 250.I have been hunting about 4 times and found a few wheat pennies and some sliver,When I have the 150 on coin mode and it goes off,at 1st it will flash coins then iron,Is this a coin or something else?Is the 250 much better than the 150,I am planning on getting a 250.Sometimes it will read coins then pulltab and iron.Any suggestions.Thanks alot Johnny...

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Usually when the id numbers jump around like that it is trash. You should dig some to see and get experience on ID'ing targets.

Going up to the Ace 250 will only get you a couple different features but the trash will still jump around on the display. To move up you need to move up to the 1500 if you want to stick to Garrett. I suggest you start researching the Tesoro line up, like the Vaquero. They are very light weight too. If looking for gold rings, you have to dig a lot of pull tabs since they are in the same disc. range.

khouse

Dec 6, 2006
A jumpy target usually indicates junk. But not all the time. Sometimes it means you have a good target next to a nail - etc.. You will get more iffy signals than rock solid ones. The key is to know which signals to dig. After a while when you hit a good signal you'll feel it in your gut that it's a good target.
The 250 gives you a pinpoint mode. This mode itself is worth the extra $50. The PP mode can give you more info on target size. It also can give you an indication of junk depending on the target fade when PPing.