how to hunt these places??

DONinPA

Nov 8, 2008
Hi Im new to md and relic hunting. I've always done it on vacation at the beach but returning home this year I found I was bitten by the bug. While thinking of places in my area to md I've also been thinking of other places. In my area near pittsburgh I do landscaping, many of the older houses in town have circular brick lined pits 6' to 8' wide and from 10' to 100' deep. Some of the people know of them but most don't and we have found some quite by accident, most likley the were sewage pits for the first houses and not wells but some are very deep. Ok, any ideas on checking out the bottoms ? The one a friend ownes is about 80' deep to the water line and im not ready to be lowered on a rope :) Leave it to me to explore a septic tank. One idea was a magnet for any metal. What I'd realy like is some kind of scoop I could lower. Lifting and lowering are no problem I have the equipment. Thanks for any ideas. Ive been reading this site for several weeks now and enjoying it very much.

Shortstack

Silver Member
Jan 22, 2007
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Bandido II and DeLeon. also a Detector Pro Headhunter Diver, and a Garrett BFO called The Hunter & a Garrett Ace 250.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First, welcome to the forum and the hobby.

The places you've described sounds like cisterns not sewage containers. People in the big cities used outhouses just like their country brethren. Do not explore these places alone. Always have a hunt buddy with you. Are you sure that one is 80ft deep? That one sounds like a hand-dug well. Using a good magnet to explore them with is a very good idea. A "fishing" magnet should be in every THer's kit. Some folks do a lot of magnet fishing from boats in lakes; especially if they hear that someone has lost a tackle box, gun, motor, or gun overboard.
Good luck with your project and think "safety first". :thumbsup:

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds