125 year old chuch in the middle of nowwhere maybe a hotspot

Jimmy@romega

Dec 4, 2008
rome, ga
I'm new to this MD, I will soon be getting a metal detector within the next few days. I would like to hear from others about their experiences. One of the first place in mind I had I would like to go is a church it's pretty much on the back roads and pretty much sits vacant thru out the year. Here's what I know about the church. It only has 1 service a year which about 200-300 people show up for a homecoming. I know this because I go there just bout ever year since the 70's. From what I know this is been going on since the 50's. The church was first built in 1883 was burnt down sometime around the 50's and rebuilt in the 50's. There still an old outhouse that is still up there, a little stream of water that runs behind it that kids play in. They will be all in the creek looking for crawfish and that happens each and every year. I remembered back in the 70's doing the same thing. Kids will be running thru the wooded area around the creek. Lot's of activity for just 1 day out of the year but other than that the church sits vacant the other 364 days out of the year. I'm not really sure bout the early days of this church but it has been around 125 years and maybe never been hit with a metal detector in it's history. It would be interesting to see if I can get permission to MD the property. I went out there today just to look around and take some pics i was there for bout 20 minutes and not even 1 car passed by on the road. That is how much away from town this place is. I post some pics of this place. Anyone had such luck in old churches? It be the first place i hit if i can get the green light.

Attachments

• 1206081618.jpg
    1206081618.jpg
    14.1 KB · Views: 519
  • 1206081619.jpg
    1206081619.jpg
    20 KB · Views: 510

BuckleBoy

Gold Member
Jun 12, 2006
Moonlight and Magnolias
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used