Been Gifted

corklabus

Dec 5, 2007
West Virginia
Detector(s) used
none yet
Been Gifted

:icon_scratch: I have been given an old metal detector and need to know anything that I can find out about it.
It is a TREASURE TRACKER XR8 It has sensitivity, groung balance, discrimination, on/off/volume and a place for earphones. runs on 2 9volt batteries.........but does NOT beep....It BUZZES.
It seems to be extremely light weight, but also seems made for fairlyshort statured people. Maybe younger folks?

Montana Jim

Gold Member
Sep 18, 2006
Montana
Re: Been Gifted

I think we'll need a picture... I cannot find Treasure Tracker XR8 anyplace on line - plenaty of just plain Treasure Trackers though...

Does it look like this?

TreTracker1-sm.gif

OP
OP
corklabus

corklabus

Dec 5, 2007
West Virginia
Detector(s) used
none yet

I've never tried to post pics on a site before. I'll take a couple and see what happens.

It looks to be older and more box shaped that that one and has a solid coil. The coil is a bit "floppy", but I haven't looked to see if the hinge needs, or can be, tightened.

Montana Jim

Gold Member
Sep 18, 2006
Montana

corklabus said:
I've never tried to post pics on a site before. I'll take a couple and see what happens.

It looks to be older and more box shaped that that one and has a solid coil. The coil is a bit "floppy", but I haven't looked to see if the hinge needs, or can be, tightened.

Yea... give it a shot! Take a few picures and see what happens... I bet someone can ID it.

OP
OP
corklabus

corklabus

Dec 5, 2007
West Virginia
Detector(s) used
none yet

Can't get the pics from computer to forum. No idea how it's done. Can't seem to attatch from folder to forum.

Tried again : Files too large. Don't know how to shrink 'em.

Somebody jump right in here. I'm a total computer illiterate.

This thing comes from First Texas Mfg. ELpaso Tx 79936

Metal Detector/ Treasure Finder U.S. Patent # 4300097

Montana Jim

Gold Member
Sep 18, 2006
Montana