Gold Member
Oct 16, 2007
Summit County, CO
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's DFX, White's Classic 1 Coinmaster, Nokta Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey Silver Eagle. I went to a pawn shop and bought a White's Classic I Coinmaster some years back for a hundred bucks. Whatever you buy, you need to learn the machine until you automatically know what it's telling you. This takes time but with practice it can be done. It's just something you'll come by and it's not taught in the instructions. I was broke in those days, and my goal was to someday buy a real expensive metal detector, as the more they cost the more better they should be, right? Well, I finally bought a White's DFX with about 3 different coils. I got about 1600 dollars invested in it and I'm getting it back a quarter at a time. I'm still learning this machine. But sometimes I still take the Coinmaster out for fun and clean up with it.

Daveaohio

Greenie
Apr 21, 2009
Have you checked into renting one to see what works best? Maybe hook up with someone local and try it out a few times. I have a Whites Classic I think I payed a few hundred ten years ago I don't do much MDing but I found a diamond ring on a Tampa beach that covered the cost of the detector. If you take care of it you'll have it a life time so it's not a bad investment.
Good Luck
Dave

rjw4law

Bronze Member
Apr 25, 2007
Missouri
Detector(s) used
AT Garrett Max/ Garrett ATX/ Deus XP
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
The age old question, where to start. Start with quality, start cheap....I say go used, with a reputable brand that is a turn on and go unit...if you are still hunting months later upgrade.

Dirty WhiteBoy

Apr 21, 2009
Seminole, Florida
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX fine jewelery extraction device
The Whites Prizm series is a great starter detector. Check out the Prizm II. It is a great little machine for about $250.00. Best of luck to you in your new hobby! :thumbsup:

Dirty WhiteBoy

Apr 21, 2009